Award categories

“Patient experience is the sum of all interactions, shaped by an organisation’s culture, that influence patient perceptions across the continuum of care.”
– The Beryl Institute


Following the success of last year’s inaugural FFT Awards, the NHS England’s Insight & Feedback Team and PEN are delighted to announce a partnership to include the FFT Awards as a key part of the PEN National Awards programme for 2016.  We are both focussed on recognising and celebrating what works in terms of using patient and staff feedback and on sharing  good practice; this partnership approach allows us to work together to better showcase the examples of what is working well.

New FFT category

There is now have a new dedicated category for FFT within the PEN National Award programme.  Please see the full details of all the categories here.  Within the FFT category we are keen to identify and recognise people and services that are making a real difference through their use of FFT.    We know there are five areas where there are some brilliant stories to tell and so we have 5 areas of focus within this category:

  • FFT initiatives in Primary Care – covering GP and dental practices where the FFT and other patient feedback is being used to improve services
  • FFT initiatives in any other NHS-funded service – covering hospital services, ambulance and patient transport services, community and mental health trusts etc. where the FFT and other patient feedback is being used to improve services
  • FFT accessibility initiative – open to any service that has made a particular effort to make giving FFT feedback easier for people who might otherwise be excluded due to their age, language, literacy, physical or mental condition and to acting on that feedback
  • Staff FFT initiative – open to those NHS trusts who participate in the Staff FFT and can demonstrate how they act on that feedback
  • FFT Champion(s) – an individual or team who has made the most outstanding contribution to the successful use of FFT and other feedback to drive improvement in any NHS-funded service


We’d love to hear from you if you have done something that has improved the experience of care – whether it is for patients, carers, families or staff.  We have a wide range of categories to reflect the wide ranging work in this area.  From large organisation-wide strategic initiatives to local more operational activities, from commissioning to providing the experience, from public engagement programmes to specific targeted actions there will be a category for your work.

Please note you can enter a project or initiative that has been submitted in a previous year, as long as it has progressed and subsequently you have new results to show. We love to hear how a story has developed and it can be really inspiring documenting a journey from humble beginnings to its successful completion, or ongoing ascendency.

If your programme has come about as a result of something you learnt through PENNA please let us know!  Perhaps you attended an event and heard about an initiative that you then implemented, or read one of the case studies and applied some of the learnings to your area.   We know this programme makes a difference and would love to hear more about the difference it made to you and your organisation.

All entries will be judged on their merit, irrelevant of the size of the project or initiative. There is a standard judging criteria against which all entries will be scored.  More information about these criteria can be found here:


For more information about the PEN National Awards 2016 categories, please download our categories for PENNA2016 final.


For your convenience copies of the forms can be downloaded here on the following links. Please note that these forms are for preparation only, and entries will only be accepted using the online submission form:

PENNA2016 General Entry Form
PENNA2016 Individual Team Category Entry Form